K.I.T.T. Now with Super Surfing-Lesbian Power


This is how childhood dies.

Knight Industries Three Thousand

I really wanted the new Knight Rider movie to be good. I was even willing to overlook the fact that the new K.I.T.T. was a Mustang. I Tivo’d it… I was disappointed.

I wonder if my memories of the original show (pre super-pursuit mode) have placed it undeserving high on a pedestal.

I did like the new car but was more than a little disturbed to have the show ellude to the fact that the old K.I.T.T. was being parted out in some guy’s garage. When Knight Rider first came out I ordered a Car and Driver type road test comparing K.I.T.T. and the General Lee (if memory serves, Knight Rider was going to compete with Dukes of Hazzard). Seeing him disassembled was a little creepy. Maybe Goliath will come back and finish the whole thing off…

For a review of the new movie: link

knight2000_ex107.jpg

~ by pakeener on February 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “K.I.T.T. Now with Super Surfing-Lesbian Power”

  1. Yup, you’re right, they were going to try to go into the same timeslot opposite the Dukes. Somewhere in there also was The Green Hornet, with the Lincoln as Black Beauty. I loved the floor in the garage that would flip 180° (car and all) to reveal Black Beauty.

    I rather preferred the ‘pile of junk’ Ford sedan in “Men in Black”, if you gotta have a Ford. At least it didn’t have all that goofy stuff stuck all over it. KITT was at least a nod to “Shannon”. Now there’s real trivia for you. Shannon’s car was a fun car for its day, full of gadgets; even though it was a ’62 Buick Skylark.

    Back to the Mustang: remember how the car magazines made such a lot of hay at the time when Steve McQueen’s hot-rodded Mustang kept getting its clock cleaned by the (stock) Dodge Charger in Bullitt. Didn’t matter that Steve was a great driver; hit a straightaway and the Charger was GONE.

  2. I may have to make a post: The greatest Television Show Cars

Leave a Reply

 
