Jerk


I frequently ponder how nice the world would be if people didn’t go out of their way to be jerks to one another. Not necessarily be nice per say… just not jerks.

Yesterday I bought a new cell phone, my old one wouldn’t charge properly and I wanted a picture phone etc. etc. I went to the AT&T store and was met (as were MANY other customers) at the door by the manager of the store who informed us that, “she was sorry but the network was down but that it should be up any minute”. I don’t use my phone allot so I hadn’t noticed but I know people who this would be frustrating; and rightly so. While I was in line to talk to a sales person I noticed another customer reading the riot act to another sales person about the outage. The woman pushed past the store manager to yell at a 20 year old girl who sells cell phones to complain about AT&T’s network outage? What did the woman expect her to do? Go climb a cell tower and flip a switch?

I bought my phone and left but I felt bad for the sales girl. I get the customers frustration but she should have vetted it more appropriatly. I sort of felt bad because I didn’t say anything but then again that would have made me a jerk as well…

~ by pakeener on August 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
